Universal Wilderless - Open world fantasy wilderness

Discussion in 'Upcoming iOS Games' started by Protopop, Nov 10, 2019.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Protopop

Protopop Well-Known Member
    Patreon Silver

Jul 21, 2014
    #1 Protopop, Nov 10, 2019
    Last edited: Nov 11, 2019
    EDL9kewWsAEnTQ4.jpeg

Hi:) my name is Rob and I created two open world adventure games based on a fantasy world I created when I was a kid - Nimian Legends BrightRidge and Nimian Legends Vandgels.

I really enjoyed working on both games and all the feedback from players. I learned a lot making them - what I did right and what could be better - and I wanted to figure out a way to make a new game that tried to overcome the problems I had. I’m a solo developer and I wasn’t always able to create as much as I wanted, add as many features as I wanted, or polish things as well as I could.

There were also big issues technically that can cause problems for indie devs. The big one was that the technology used changes very fast. Each year there were new versions of Unity (the game engine I use), MacOS, Xcode, iOS and more. Changes to this ecosystem can easily break what you’ve been working in, and a large part of the production time was just keeping up with these changes.

So for my next game I thought about ways I could solve these problems. I already had a name - Wilderless - and an idea - an even larger open world that could surprise me as well as players. Even though my last two games were relatively large open worlds, there were some mountains in the skybox in Vandgels that were just pretty pictures. Players, and myself, wanted to go there. I wanted to make sure in Wilderless that if you can see it, you can go there, no matter what you’re looking at. And of course I wanted to make a game with a lot of love. So I made a few decisions.