What type of iOS game isn't getting made that people want?

Discussion in 'General Game Discussion and Questions' started by AmazingRuss, Sep 6, 2022.

1. AmazingRuss

AmazingRuss Well-Known Member

Mar 6, 2009
    Hey Everybody;

Back in the olden days of the first iPhone I had some indie success with an open world RPG. Made enough money to keep going a few years, but have made much more since working on free to play games for megacorps. I've learned a LOT technically over the years, and more importantly I've learned pragmatism. I used to make whatever stupid crazy thing came into my head and hope it hit, but in these days of paid user acquisition, that's a complete waste of time. I've been making games for 15 years now, and I love it, but it's hard work.

I've got a settled, solid gig now, some time to work, a need for a house down payment, and an itch to make an old school "pay for it and own it" game. I have about 3 engineering months available over the next year, so scope has to be pretty small.

So I'm hoping there are enough folks around here that remember and appreciate that old model, and wondering what they'd like to see made? I have been playing around with some big world, RTS/Shooter mechanics on PC, (see Battlezone: Combat Commander), and was thinking it could make a fun little top down RTS for mobile. Single player campaign to start, and then multiplayer if it does ok.

Does it sound feasible? If not, what genre do guys think is underserved for the pay once model?

2. smugpugd

smugpugd Member

Dec 10, 2012
    I love open world rpg games. I probably played yours. I miss the days when iOS had more of those. The pay once model is underserved in general, so I’m glad people are still interested in it. RPGs are by far my favorite, and good story driven single player ones are rare, particularly western style. Board-type games tend to translate well to iOS.