What instruments do you play?

Discussion in 'Off-Topic Lounge' started by Rocketman919, Nov 4, 2008.

1. Rocketman919

Rocketman919 Well-Known Member

Aug 8, 2008
    Cali-forn-i-a
    This thread is meant to go hand in hand with the "Apps for musicians?" thread.
    If you replied in that thread i'm assuming you have an instrument, so tell me, what is it? I'll start. I play guitar. I own a black Gibson SG Standard and a black Martin Grand Orchestra acoustic-electric. I am hoping that i can assemble enough money to get a peavey 6505 amp and a Marshall cab. All together thats over 1000 dollars :(. Oh well, guess i'll take some money out of savings.

2. slomper

slomper Well-Known Member

Aug 21, 2008
    I play guitar too, i have a epiphone les paul studio and the spider 3 line 6 amp.

3. NotYou

NotYou Well-Known Member

Sep 22, 2008
    Colorado
    I actually build guitars for a living. I write, but my main source of income at this point comes from building guitars.

I'm only doing electrics right now, but I hope to start building and selling acoustics by spring.

4. slomper

slomper Well-Known Member

Aug 21, 2008
    thats really cool, im assuming you play?

5. McChikun

McChikun Well-Known Member

Oct 26, 2008
    I play both cello and guitar. My cello's a cello. I've got a fake Chinese stratocaster (hey, I lived in Shanghai for two years, and I bought it cheap from a friend) and a non-brand name acoustic guitar.

6. NotYou

NotYou Well-Known Member

Sep 22, 2008
    Colorado
    Definitely. Not as much as I used to though. I went to art school and studied screenwriting. Having to be creative at school everyday kind of distracted me from playing.

In retrospect, I should have done it the other way around and learned writing by myself and formally learned to make guitars. My student loans would be a fraction of what they are. :rolleyes:

7. Rocketman919

Rocketman919 Well-Known Member

Aug 8, 2008
    Cali-forn-i-a
    Sounds sweet.

8. VeganTnT