iPad Using the "Home" button as an actual button in a game

Discussion in 'iPhone and iPad Games' started by Sense Field, Jan 7, 2009.

1. Sense Field

Sense Field Well-Known Member

Jan 4, 2009
    My understanding is that the home button responds to two things:

A single press and a double press

I wonder if these can be used in game...perhaps, instead of click home to quit a game they could have an option in the menu that quits the game. Navigating a menu is a small price to pay for having the use of the home button as an actual button in a game.

I'm not a developer, so I really have no clue how much control you might have over that stuff. I assume that Apple probably doesn't allow you too utilize it in that way but I figured it was worth asking and probably worth apple considering if they want to look at the iPhone and Touch as a gaming machine.

2. Tennisking1o1

Tennisking1o1 Well-Known Member

Nov 15, 2008
    I doubt the SDK would allow developers to have this option, and I don't really think apple will do this. Not a bad idea though

3. triela

triela Member

Nov 26, 2008
    I'd actually rather have the volume rocker be allowed as a control (and it would give you two buttons), keeping the home button for, you know, maybe exiting the game?

4. HardcoreEricXXX

HardcoreEricXXX Well-Known Member

Nov 29, 2008
    Virginia
    Wishful thinking

I hope they change the home button to a small chrome joystick and scroll wheel, but unfotunatly it seems Apple really dislikes hard buttons. That's my biggest wish for the next generation.

5. The Game Reaper

The Game Reaper Well-Known Member

Dec 6, 2008
    The Emerald Isle
    I'd rather have the power buttton as a shoulder button.