Ultimate FPS Controls?

Discussion in 'General Game Discussion and Questions' started by SicMX, Jul 7, 2009.

1. SicMX

SicMX Well-Known Member

Apr 18, 2009
    Out of all first person shooter type games out there (both currently available and soon to be released) which do you think has the best controls?

I personally love the controls in Wolfenstein 3D AND those in Doom Resurrection. The problem, as we all know, is that the controls in Wolfenstein 3D wouldn't work in a game where you can also aim vertically, and shooting and aiming at the same time can be tricky.

The controls for Doom Resurrection are spot on. It is by far the best control system out there! BUT, it's still on rails...

I'm no developer, but i both believe and hope that quality FPS games will be released on the iPod/iPhone platform. Therefore it would be interesting to hear suggestions on what would be the best adaptation of a FPS control system on the iPod/iPhone.

My suggestion for the Ultimate FPS Controls:

Two sets of controls. One for movement. One for action.

Now imagine playing Doom Resurrection...

Movement: When moving around one could use two digital control sticks like in Wolf 3D, one to the right and the other to the left. Up in the upper right would be e.g. an actions button to open doors and such and in the left you would have "mode change"

Action: After moving around in the levels one would encounter some enemies and click on the "mode change" button, after which the controls would change instantaneously into the control scheme we can see in Doom Resurrection, where one used the accelerometer to aim, and virtual buttons to fire, reload and change weapons. The dodge button currently inplemented in Doom Resurrection could function as a strafe button which enable the person to dodge sideways, but also go back and forth. When done killing the enemies one would click on the "mode change" button and continue exploring the vast pits of hell.