The App Store - The Free to Play Store

Discussion in 'General Game Discussion and Questions' started by Stingman, Nov 13, 2014.

1. Stingman

Stingman Well-Known Member
    Patreon Bronze

Aug 14, 2012
    App / Game Developer
    The Bay Area
    I'm 30 years old. I grew up without ever having an issue of paying $50 for Super Mario Kart on my SNES or any of the other thousands of games I've bought in my life. I'm also a developer and its sad that something as awesome as the App Store came about but now it's just becoming a money pit for large developers to cash in on casual gamers with the awesome microtransaction. On iOS, games are hardly being developed for fun anymore. The first thing on everyone's mind is : how can we make money off this? And the worst part of all --> the distribution outlets are now catering to this mindset, and of course it makes sense as you have to supply your customers with what they want. And considering 97% of people on the App Store don't pay for anything... you've got to supply things that are free.

Take a look at the "Featured" Tab in the App Store and then proceed to the "New" category for action games, arcade games, adventure games etc. Count the number of free games listed in the "New" section and the number of paid games listed. I think it's pretty obvious Apple knows people want free and now they are starting to only feature free even in the smaller featured sections.

I predict that in another year or 2 if devs don't go free to play then they're gonna be sunk. The likes of successes like Monument Valley and Goblin sword will be more rare and rare for games. Granted they may be great games but great games don't always rise to the top.