Performance difference between iPhone & iPod touch?

Discussion in 'Public Game Developers Forum' started by Intruder_qcc, Apr 4, 2009.

1. Intruder_qcc

Intruder_qcc Well-Known Member

Mar 28, 2009
    Senior Analyst-programmer
    St-Hubert (Quebec), Canada
    Hello folks,

Well Ive read some article online talking about the performance difference between an iPhone & iPod touch. Is it really noticeable? Currently I am looking to get an iPod touch for doing my development (I am still learning the SDK and in early development stage, so I am using the iPhone Simulator). I was interested in the iPhone itself, but due to the current fees from my local cell phone company (Fido/Rogers) I decided to wait for a more reasonable prices (I know it probably wont happen due to their monopoly status :mad:).
    Is still ok to get an iPod touch?

Most of my development will be games related, though ill probably work on some utility/apps too.

Thanks for your opinions/comments.

Fred

2. I developed my first game doing testing entire on a first-gen iPod Touch and it wasn't a big deal, I think. I think the performance issue largely depends on how intensively you are using the hardware.

I would say that you can use the iPod Touch for your development and testing. Then find iPhone owners as beta testors and ask them some specific performance questions if you are worried.

3. There's no difference between the 1st gen iPod Touch and the iPhone. The 2nd gen Touch did get a 108MHz boost to 520MHz though, so you're looking at a speed boost of approximately 25% over other iDevices. It's noticeable with games that push the envelope -- ones whose frame rates drop when things get busy; obviously it becomes the better performer on the 2nd gen Touch. For games that don't require as much CPU/GPU horsepower, the differences probably wouldn't be noticeable, though.

4. CommanderData

CommanderData Well-Known Member
    Patreon Indie