Older Mobile Gamers?

Discussion in 'General Game Discussion and Questions' started by wonderspark, Jul 29, 2015.

1. wonderspark

wonderspark Well-Known Member

Jul 29, 2015
    Hey, TA folks! This is my first time posting under this account, but I used to post here a while back as selfawaregames.

I had a quick question: How many of you are older folks - say, 30+, who grew up with console games but now primarily play mobile games?

If so, do you miss some of the things that you used to love about console games? If so, what?

For me, I grew up playing basically everything - PC games like Mechwarrior & the Bard's Tale to the original Metroid/Mario/Sonic/whatever. I kept playing stuff - SNES, Dreamcast, and everything that came after right up until I had a kid. Then my time to play games basically ground to a halt. Now when I see something like Witcher 3 or Dragon Age, I think, "Geez, I'm just never gonna be able to make any headway on that."

But if I look at the current crop of mobile games, I find them generally unsatisfying. Sure, there are standouts (YMBAB, Hearthstone, Spellwood, Card Crawl, Vainglory, etc.) - but for the most part, most games just feel like "time killers". And I don't want to *kill* time. I want to do something meaningful with it - something that feels like *gaming*, and not like "How do I get from now to five minutes in the future as quickly and mindlessly as possible?"

Is this something you feel, too? Something different? If you're finding things that scratch that "real gamer" itch, what? I'm sure I've gotta be missing a bunch of stuff. If you do feel it, what kind of old school games do you miss the most?

Thanks!
    seppo

2. psj3809

psj3809 Moderator

Jan 13, 2011
    England
    Prepare for a long post ;)

I'm a veteran gamer, brought up in the 80's on the ZX Spectrum, then Amiga, Megadrive then PC.

Love handheld devices, had a Gameboy, GBA, Pocket PC and then a GP2X.