My iPad 2 has sustained a fatal wound!

Discussion in 'Off-Topic Lounge' started by Chris Brady, Mar 14, 2016.

1. Chris Brady

Chris Brady Active Member

So I somehow bent the screen so there's the block of lines across it. Which means it's done. But seeing as I practically live off the thing (I'm an amateur writer and I use it to keep notes, surf the net when I'm out, and yes, play games on it too) I need to look into getting a new one.

The issue is that being in Canada, they jack the price up by $50 ON TOP of the current exchange rate, and given that I'm on disability due to back health, my funds are limited to about a total (after taxes and recycling fee) to about $500CDN tops.

So my question is, seeing as the iPad Mini 2 is still available for purchase, what is better about it over the iPad 2 (As in the original 2, the second model they made after the first iPad.)

Anyone?

2. one.sixty.four

one.sixty.four Well-Known Member

Jan 14, 2013
    minnesota
    #2 one.sixty.four, Mar 15, 2016
    Last edited: Mar 15, 2016
    A lot is better. It runs on a 64 Bit A7 processor versus an 32 Bit A5, so this means roughy 4X better processing speed and 8X better graphical processing capabilities, it also has a Retina display which is a high density 2048x1024 display which I believe is twice what the iPad 2 has, but don't quote me on that. It'll also will be able to support more future iOS versions than the iPad 2. So overall it's a great investment. I love mine and it still works like a charm even though I got it almost 2 and a half years ago on launch week.

3. Chris Brady

Perfect, I just need to save up the pennies as they say.

4. Sanuku

Sanuku Well-Known Member

Did you consider instead of buying a brand new One buying a refurbished One from Apple?

http://www.apple.com/ca/shop/browse/home/specialdeals/ipad