LogMeIn Ignition vs Jaadu VNC

Discussion in 'iOS Apps' started by Prab, Aug 11, 2009.

1. Prab

Prab Moderator
    Staff Member Patreon Silver Patreon Gold Patreon Bronze

Dec 17, 2008
    CS student
    SG
  2. unconnected

unconnected Well-Known Member

Jul 21, 2009
    London, UK
    What are you requirements mate?

I've only got LogMeIn Ignition and for my needs it's been really useful (helping out family, setting up torrents etc from home), it was a natural purchase as I'm currently a LogMeIn Pro customer and I really like the interface and somewhat slimline protocol (VNC has always been a bit chunky on bandwidth for my liking).

Obviously the only downer with LogMeIn is that if you needed to get a remote desktop of a Linux box you'd be out of luck, whereas that VNC app you've linked to is multi-platform (LogMeIn does support MacOS X I believe).

I'm thinking the VNC solution is probably more flexible and if that's what you're after you'd be best of with that, but I guess it goes without saying that if you're a LogMeIn user you're best off sticking with Ignition (plus the ability to control your machines from just a web browser is what sold me on LogMeIn in the first place).

Good luck!

3. NRunner

NRunner Well-Known Member

Mar 12, 2009
    Do you pay a one time fee with the LogMeIn app? Or are there annual fees?

4. Prab

Prab Moderator

Dec 17, 2008
    CS student
    SG
    Not much requirements actually. I have a Windows box at work and at home I'm on a Mac.

I had a feeling that both LogMeIn and Jaadu VNC will pretty much offer me the same features. But rather than flipping a coin, or going for the cheaper option (Jaadu VNC), I was hoping to get some comparitive impressions from TA :)

And thanks for the input! Does the free LogMeIn account also come with web-access remote desktop?

5. unconnected

Jul 21, 2009
    London, UK