iPhone 12 bad performance (alleged)

Discussion in 'General Game Discussion and Questions' started by Nates4Christ, Nov 2, 2020.

1. Nates4Christ

Nates4Christ Member

Oct 30, 2020
    Male
    #1 Nates4Christ, Nov 2, 2020
    Last edited: Nov 2, 2020
    I'm seeing a ton of bad things about the 12. It runs games like PUBG and Genshin Impact terribly. The 11 pro ran them better. I'm new to iphone, do they always start out running games poorly?

https://developer.apple.com/forums/thread/665191

2. squarezero

squarezero Moderator
    Staff Member Patreon Silver

Dec 10, 2008
    Male
    Chief Strategy Officer
    Salem, Massachusetts, USA
    #2 squarezero, Nov 2, 2020
    Last edited: Nov 2, 2020
    Genshin Impact works fine on my iPhone 12 Pro. But it’s not unusual for games to need tweaking with a new phone, since you are dealing with new CPUs, GPUs, etc.

3. Nates4Christ

Nates4Christ Member

Oct 30, 2020
    Male
    That is interesting. There are a few youtubers that are showing issues. Like this one here. I wonder why theirs didn't work but yours is.

4. squarezero

squarezero Moderator

Dec 10, 2008
    Male
    Chief Strategy Officer
    Have yet to experience that kind of a frame rate drop. Wouldn’t be surprised if there’s something to address performance on the next update — again, it’s not uncommon with new hardware.

The game does load about twice as fast compared to my XS, BTW.

5. Nates4Christ

Nates4Christ Member

Oct 30, 2020
    Male
    My 11 pro just came in from walmart refurbished. I'm going to do some testing to see which one games and performs the best. :)

6. squarezero

squarezero Moderator

Dec 10, 2008
    Male
    Chief Strategy Officer