IPad pricing

Discussion in 'General Game Discussion and Questions' started by colbertj, Apr 2, 2010.

1. colbertj

colbertj Well-Known Member

Jun 28, 2009
    College Professor
    Massachusetts
    #1 colbertj, Apr 2, 2010
    Last edited: Apr 2, 2010
    I'm not a game developer or programmer, so I may be totally off in this thread. If you are involved in game development, then please set me straight. As I'm sure everyone has noticed, the "HD" versions of games are coming out and they are pretty much double the price of the ipod/iphone counterpart. In my mind, it takes the same amount of overhead (if not less, since the base codes are the same) to develop these IPad games. Since the only difference is the fact that it's presented on a larger screen, then what's the justification of the price hike?

I think it's related to the fact that the App store pricing has gotten way out of control. Full featured DS games being sold for a buck (and given away for a day) leading to $1.99 being 'expensive.' It appears that developers are taking advantage of the opportunity to just jack up the prices to shift the norm.

Again, I could be TOTALLY off here, but it just doesn't make sense.

Thoughts?

2. BlueSolarSoftware

BlueSolarSoftware Well-Known Member

Oct 9, 2009
    iPhone Developer
    Austin
    HD means high definition so a lot of iphone companies will have to redo their artwork from scratch if they did not anticipate the growth of the screen size from 320x480 to 1024x768. The PC companies who ported over their games will already have high fidelity artwork or textures.

A lot of users scoff at the notion of spending $100k to develop a game. Here's the cost to make a AAA quality game for different generations of consoles.
    PS1 --> PS2 --> PS3
    3M --> 10M --> 30M
    At the same time, team sizes have grown from ~10 to ~100 today.