Interview with Rob Scott of Unseen Studios - Developer of Monimals

Discussion in 'General Game Discussion and Questions' started by Varking, Aug 12, 2012.

1. Varking

Varking Well-Known Member

Oct 19, 2010
    Stand Up Comedian
    North Carolina
    #1 Varking, Aug 12, 2012
    Last edited: Aug 12, 2012
    Interview with Rob Scott of Unseen Studios - Developer of Monimals: Part 1

[​IMG]

• Tell us about yourself and your company. How long have you been in developing games, and how long have you been working on Monimals?

My name is Rob Scott, I am from Nottingham, UK. I have been developing and programming games seriously for 2 years now. Before this time I was actually heavily in to the art side of game development. Getting a job as a website designer soon changed all that however as the focus became programming orientated. Since then I have been programming games both for myself and as a freelance programmer.

Monimals development began in Feb of this year using the Cocos2d Framework.

• Tell us about Monimals! Where did the idea come from? When did you truly know you could pull this type of game off?

The idea for Monimals began as a prototype for a small scale RPG type game I was working on. In the prototype the player would have a certain amount of 'life points' which they would use up by completing actions on the map (such as moving, fighting, questing). One area where this prototype was lacking was in the battle scenes, I wanted to make battles more interactive, it was also kind of boring playing the same character over and over again, with the same moves. This is where the battle system started evolving into the Monimals you see today.