Independent dev, looking for community feedback

Discussion in 'Public Game Developers Forum' started by rcloudsoftware, Feb 24, 2009.

1. rcloudsoftware

rcloudsoftware Well-Known Member

Feb 23, 2009
    Hi,

After a couple weeks of prototyping on an iPhone game I've been working on, I've got the basic combat engine just (barely) playable, and I've put up some screenshots and basic game description.

What I wanted to know from the community here, is what would you suggest as ways to go about gathering community support and feedback from people who are interested in the project. I've been developing software for a good 15 years, so I've got the development part down...but I am very new to the community engagement piece. As an indie dev, I don't have the ability to just post an announcement on blizzard.com, and get people's attention. I want to build community support, and gather feedback from people like those of you who frequent the forums here, so that I can build a game that the people like. I have a strong vision for what the game will be like, but there is a lot of room for design to be based on community feedback and suggestions. I believe the best games come from a good balance of creator vision and a well-structured community feedback loop.

So, I guess some of the specific questions I would have, both to players and developers, are:

1. Are there specific tools for community engagement (relevant to developing a server-based iPhone game) you can suggest? It's not an open source project, but does something like lighthouse make any sense?

2. I would imagine that hosting a game-specific forum would be part of the way to go, but there have to be existing public communities that would be interested in hearing about it. This forum is one example. Do you have others you would suggest?