Important tip for developer regarding iOS9 beta!

Discussion in 'Public Game Developers Forum' started by Crabman, Jul 18, 2015.

1. Crabman

Crabman Well-Known Member

May 24, 2013
    Berlin
    I'm not a developer myself but I was getting very angry when i saw people rate games with just 1 star in the app store because it doesn't work on iOS9 beta...mankind can be so frustratingly stupid.

Example:Warhammer deathwatch is currently just 3 stars in the german app store (has not many reviews yet) and only because 2-3 idiots rated it 1 star because of that.They obviously don't understand how important (good)reviews are and that this behavior is a kick in the balls for any indie developer.

So,i strongly suggest to put a BIG warning in your app description that iOS9 beta is NOT supported.

I have another question:does it also help compareble good to give apps just a star rating without writing a full review?I try to write reviews wherever i can but apple makes it really not that easy (always asking for my password etc...)

2. Blackharon

Blackharon Well-Known Member

Mar 15, 2010
    Game Designer for Ludia
    Canada
    Either kind of feedback is good, but I can only act on one of them. As a game designer, I always appreciate text attached to the rating. If it's constructive criticism, I have something to go on when I'm trying to improve future versions of the application. If it's praise I get warm fuzzies. If it's a silly iOS9 Beta user that doesn't understand what beta means I can mock th... er... ignore them.

BUT, star ratings is what goes on reports, not the texts. So star ratings alone are also appreciated (I just can't act on it).

Re: Beta user's reviews, they'll get buried anyway soon enough... I don't sweat it. It does do more harm to indie devs tho, I wish reviews were filtered by iOS version.

3. Thinkerton Games

Thinkerton Games Well-Known Member
    Patreon Bronze

Jun 11, 2015