iPad IMPORTANT QUESTION - Please Read

Discussion in 'iPhone and iPad Games' started by ricky, Jan 31, 2009.

  1. ricky

    ricky Well-Known Member

    Sep 1, 2008
    183
    0
    16
    #1 ricky, Jan 31, 2009
    Last edited: Jan 31, 2009
    Hey guys, When you download and install a new update for the iPhone/iPod Touch, do you lose the progress in your games? I'm pretty sure you don't, I just want to make sure.

    Thanks!
     
  2. goblues11

    goblues11 Well-Known Member

    Oct 12, 2008
    231
    0
    0
    You do not lose progress
    Maybe a more specific title next time and wrong forum
     
  3. Mahaa93

    Mahaa93 Well-Known Member

    No you don't lose it.
     
  4. spmwinkel

    spmwinkel Well-Known Member

    Oct 22, 2008
    1,351
    0
    0
    The Netherlands
    I believe you only lose progress if you delete a game or restore a previous backup. (Or if there is a bug in the game. ;))
     
  5. ricky

    ricky Well-Known Member

    Sep 1, 2008
    183
    0
    16
    Alright thanks guys, I'll delete the thread.
     
  6. yourofl10

    yourofl10 Well-Known Member

    Dec 11, 2008
    4,176
    1
    0
    Yea wrong fourm change this to the lounge section ;)
     
  7. ricky

    ricky Well-Known Member

    Sep 1, 2008
    183
    0
    16
    Sorry, how do I do that?
     
  8. BrushMyNoseOff

    BrushMyNoseOff Well-Known Member

    Jan 3, 2009
    902
    0
    0
    Coach / Photographer
    NYC
    You can't, a moderator has to do it.
     
  9. spmwinkel

    spmwinkel Well-Known Member

    Oct 22, 2008
    1,351
    0
    0
    The Netherlands
    You click the red triangle next to the post # and ask the moderators to move, close or delete the topic. :)
     
  10. ricky

    ricky Well-Known Member

    Sep 1, 2008
    183
    0
    16
    Ah man! Well, I'm really sorry I wrote this in the wrong category. I promise I won't do it again! :D
     
  11. ricky

    ricky Well-Known Member

    Sep 1, 2008
    183
    0
    16
    Well until the mods change it, I just edited the title. ;)
     
  12. No Hero

    No Hero Well-Known Member

    Oct 20, 2008
    452
    0
    0
    i while ago I known some games that delete data after you update, some even say "if you update you lose data" I guess it is a coding thing, and now since they realize the problem of saving, it is almost gone now.

    Cuz when I first got my iphone and went into the store, I was always weary that the update might delete some game data, but now I haven't experienced it.

    Can someone confirm?
     
  13. Donburns99

    Donburns99 Well-Known Member

    Dec 29, 2008
    1,866
    0
    0
    ColdFusion Web Developer
    Rhode Island
    If an update changes the game play substancially, then an update can cause you to lose game data.

    A recent example is "The Creeps!" and "Gemmed".

    Gemmed was unintentional, but a significant game play change caused the monsters in the level to be changed into exploding gems, making the current level unwinnable and a forced game over if you didn't have any replays left.

    The Creeps did a similar thing, where textures changed and got scrambled, making the game act in a weird way.

    Some updates just delete your resume data to avoid these issues.
     
  14. RM imagery

    RM imagery Well-Known Member

    Jan 12, 2009
    550
    0
    0
    Photographer (interiors, architecture, abstract ar
    Long Island, NY
    Also, some updates will erase your high scores, usually when a new online leaderboard is implemented. If this is the case, that fact is mentioned in the update notes. That's why i always read the update notes before installing.
     

Share This Page