iPad How important is "multiplayer" to you?

Discussion in 'iPhone and iPad Games' started by byteclub, Jan 26, 2009.

?

When you buy games, how important is "multiplayer" and would you pay more for it?

1. Multiplayer is great, I can see myself paying more for it

53.3%
  2. It's nice, but I won't pay extra for it

24.0%
  3. I don't care for it

22.7%
  1. byteclub

byteclub Member

Dec 30, 2008
    co-founder of ByteClub.com
    NYC
    As a developer, I'd be very interested in the wisdom of the fine Touch Arcade crowd when it comes to the following question:

When you buy games for iPhone/iPod Touch, do you consider multiplayer features important? (obviously, doesn't apply to all games). If so, if you had two similar games (think various versions of chess, tic-tac-toe or even Bomberman vs Bomber Online), would you pay more for the one that supports multiplayer vs the one that doesn't?

Thanks in advance for your input :)

2. sam the lion

sam the lion Well-Known Member

Jan 12, 2009
    Italy
    It depends on the game. If the game has a solid singleplayer mode it can be not so important, while a tic-tac-toe does not make sense to me without the online. Actually I am tempted to buy Uno solely on the basis of the multiplayer feature.

3. ourfinesth0ur

ourfinesth0ur Active Member

Oct 8, 2008
    Multiplayer adds a huge amount of replay value to a game. Once you finally beat the game you can spend that time just playing casually with people. People are always more fun and challenging to play than AI any day. If I was going to put money into a game on the app store, it would definitely be one with a fun multiplayer aspect to it. Think of what games like Galcon would be like without the multiplayer aspect to it. I can safely say that the games with multiplayer are the ones I always end up coming back to play in between classes.

4. ourfinesth0ur

ourfinesth0ur Active Member

Oct 8, 2008