How Important Is Java in iPhone apps?

Discussion in 'Public Game Developers Forum' started by iphoneprogrammer, Sep 4, 2010.

1. iphoneprogrammer

iphoneprogrammer Well-Known Member

Mar 26, 2009
    Financial Analyst for Baines and Ernst
    London, UK
    I am currently studying Java, and was wondering how important it's role is in iPhone programming. I am also trying to develop a pretty neat UI and have no Objective-C knowledge, and have heard that some devs use other languages to program UI's and stuff. Is this even possible to do, and if so, is it easier or more difficult than doing it in Objective-C.

2. ChaoticBox

ChaoticBox Well-Known Member

Oct 8, 2008
    Male
    Developer
    Toronto Canada
    Learning Java might be an OK way get the hang of general programming patterns but you can't use it directly for iOS programming.

If your UI ideas are based around Apple's UIKit widgets you're better off diving right into Objective-C, Cocoa, and interface builder. You can create a UI from scratch using OpenGLES or some other lower-level view classes but even then you'll need at least a little Objective-C and Cocoa knowledge to setup the layers and handle events.

Only other option is to use a 3rd party library/engine, but even some of those require Objective-C.

3. iphoneprogrammer

Mar 26, 2009
    London, UK
    I figured I would start learning Java first as its similar to Objective-C and learning java will make it easier once I start to learn Obj-C. As for OpenGLES, I have absolutely no idea how to use it, program with it, or even launch the application. Thanks for the help, I appreciate it.

Is there any specific reason(s) why you cannot directly use Java in iOS development?