Good piano tutor for iPhone?

Discussion in 'Off-Topic Lounge' started by lepeos, Sep 6, 2010.

1. lepeos

lepeos Well-Known Member

Jan 22, 2010
    Hey can anyone recommend any good piano tutoring apps for beginners? Absolute beginners.

I've found a load of piano apps that let you play on your iPhone, but none that teach you form and style.

Thanks a lot!

2. Cilo

Cilo Well-Known Member

Feb 2, 2010
    Los Angeles
    #2 Cilo, Sep 6, 2010
    Last edited: Sep 6, 2010
    I looked through a few of them for you, and found two that might compliment each other well for learning basics right away.

1. Note-A-Lator - As a reference tool if you're learning to read music, and want quick access to terms ect.

2. PlayItYourself - This has a beautiful interface, easy to see key placement to have propped up in front of you while you play the same notes on your piano/keyboard, as well as scrolling sheet music above the keys matching the music, which is great for exposure to key notation. And from the looks of it, the songs in this app are classics like Fur Elise. I added this app to my own wishlist, because the UI is pretty darn slick.

3. lepeos

lepeos Well-Known Member

Jan 22, 2010
    Nice one, thanks for the help, these 2 apps will certainly help, but I was looking more for a complete tutorial, maybe with videos - which I'm
    Now sure the app store prob doesn't have; what I'll probably do is just buy a DVD tutorial and rip it to my iPhone. It's just I remember seeing an iPad app where someone used an app to play along, and I assumed there'd be a full tutor or lesson app

4. Cilo

Cilo Well-Known Member

Feb 2, 2010
    Los Angeles
    Oh check video podcasts! Maybe there's something.

5. lord-sam

lord-sam Well-Known Member

Feb 25, 2009
    United Kingdom