Forking over my $99... Company or Individual?

Discussion in 'Public Game Developers Forum' started by Adams Immersive, Feb 6, 2009.

1. Adams Immersive

Adams Immersive Well-Known Member
    Patreon Bronze

Dec 5, 2008
    Freelance interactive design and programming
    Ohio
    #1 Adams Immersive, Feb 6, 2009
    Last edited: Feb 6, 2009
    I'm getting ready to resurrect an orphaned Mac game I made ages ago and never released. Let the porting commence!

I signed up with Apple as a Company, but I think that's probably an error and I'll have to cancel and start fresh.

I'm a freelancer (sole proprietor, not incorporated) so maybe I HAVE to sign up as an Individual. If so, I assume I can still have my freelance business name show up in bold at the top of my App Store page(s)?

I see some that list a bold "company" name at the top, but the "Seller:" line underneath is different--a person. Is that how it works for an Individual? I'll use my own name as Seller but then later I can pick a "company" name to appear on top?

Or if I DO have the choice to sign up as Company even though I'm one guy and not incorporated (at least not for now) how should I choose? Individual or Company?

Thanks in advance.

2. Hippieman

Hippieman Well-Known Member

Nov 6, 2008
    Senior Producer, Designer
    San Francisco
    Go in as a company as an LLC. That'll also protect you incase somehow you go bankrupt due to this.

Also, I think it just looks a bit cleaner and more professional.

3. Adams Immersive

Patreon Bronze

Dec 5, 2008
    Ohio
    Good thought. Becoming an LLC is something I've had on my list to look into anyway, just for my freelance work. Maybe now is the time!

4. Acceleroto

Acceleroto Well-Known Member