Exploration Games?

Discussion in 'General Game Discussion and Questions' started by Vexir, May 26, 2011.

1. Vexir

Vexir Member

May 26, 2011
    #1 Vexir, May 26, 2011
    Last edited: May 26, 2011
    Hey guys, I'm a student developer of mobile games and I needed some reference material to help me flesh out the mechanics of an iOS game I'm working on.

Does anyone know of any 2D games on the Store right now that feature some kind of exploration or decently sized world environment? I'm also looking for games that deal with guiding NPCs in some way around an environment or through combat.

Without giving away too many details, the game I'm developing deals with AI characters moving around in an environment under constant attack by that environment, guided around by the player in some way.

It's a little vague, I know, but if you need more information I can give it to you.

2. backtothis

backtothis im in ur base killin ur d00dz
    Staff Member Patreon Silver Patreon Gold Patreon Bronze

Jul 13, 2009
    college student (junior)
    Houston/Austin, TX
    Aralon
    GTA: CW
    Gangstar 2

3. GnarKill

GnarKill Well-Known Member

Oct 24, 2009
    UI Engineer
    Bay Area
    You can also check out dungeon hunter 1 & 2 and sword and sworcery. both have npc that you can quide around during combat, mainly just one other character. but S&S will show you some interesting ways to interact with the world around you which is kind of cool.

final fantasy games too.

4. Vexir

Vexir Member

May 26, 2011
    Editing my OP to say 2D games. I'm really looking for two things, one is how to set up the game structure of a large world and autonomously moving NPCs, the second is ideas for moment-to-moment gameplay (combat, navigation, etc) for the player to control those NPCs.

5. hamster787

hamster787 Well-Known Member

Sep 1, 2010
    dirt for exploration not an rpg in any way though no npcs or combat but good design

6. Mivo

Mivo Well-Known Member

May 10, 2011
    Germany