c++ vs objective-c

Discussion in 'Public Game Developers Forum' started by cool mr croc, May 28, 2009.

1. cool mr croc

cool mr croc Active Member

May 27, 2009
    hi :D

so im a games software engineering student, coming to the end of my 2nd year, just invested in an imac, this summer ill be making some games for the iphone/touch.

ive been taught c++ and OO, something which i can use very effectively. after looking into how exactly to develop for the itouch/phone, it seems cocoa API requires objective-c. ive looked into it and apparently objective-c is a superset of c, which means any c language (eg c++) will compile, so in theory i could continue using c++ which would be awesome.

however, my question is would i be missing out on some clever library classes and functions if i carried on with c++, or would it otherwise be foolish? should i just bite the bullet and learn the objective-c bits?

2. jonaswills

jonaswills Well-Known Member
    Patreon Gold

Nov 11, 2008
    Game Developer
    Washington
    *most* of our code base is in c++ and it works fine on the iPhone, the only code we have in obj c is anything using the iphone api, ie playing sounds, file locations and such, but then we just call those functions from c++. You do gotta learn some obj c, but if you already know c++ and are comfortable with it most of your code can stay there.

3. inferi22

inferi22 Well-Known Member

Jan 11, 2009
    can someone help me find a way to learn code easily

4. cool mr croc

cool mr croc Active Member

May 27, 2009
    thought that may be the case, id imagine there are classes in the sdk that take care of model/picture/asset loading. ill do a search for a spinning cube program and see how it deals with it all.