Are iPad-only games a good idea?

Discussion in 'Public Game Developers Forum' started by randyo, Jul 18, 2012.

1. randyo

randyo Well-Known Member

Sep 11, 2011
    (see above)
    Chicago!
    Are there developers here who have done iPad-only apps and felt it was worth it?

I'm currently working on a new game (in Cocos2d) and constructing it as Universal. From my various experiences (playing and making games), most of the time everything feels better on iPad. There's just so much more space to work with.

Right now I am feeling the limited space of the iPhone, but I'm reluctant to consider iPad-only because of the far reduced market, and it would change how the game is approached by players as well.

Any developers with iPad-only apps care to give insight on their experiences? Thanks!

2. I'm not a developer, but as a consumer, I would like to add my 2 cents worth.

I own a new Ipad and an Iphone 4, and am an avid gamer, constantly buying games every week. Before I had an ipad, I used to love playing on my iphone, but after I got it, I never play on my iphone anymore.

So now, I ONLY buy games that are universal or ipad hd. Even games that are free, I rarely download games that are iphone only cause I know I will never play them.

I was one of the first to buy the new ipad, but since it's release, I have noticed more and more people with ipads. When I first bought mine, it was rare to see others with ipads, but now it's become commonplace.

I go once in a while to a university campus with free wifi service, and before for every 20 laptop users there would be about 1 ipad user in the common grounds area. Now there is getting to be around a 5 to 20 ratio, one day it shocked me, there were 7 ipad users and 7 laptop users.

So my point is, there are going to be a lot more of us dual iphone/ipad users soon, very soon, and they will all want ipad games that are designed for ipads, not iphone clones.