Apple Double Standard

Discussion in 'Public Game Developers Forum' started by BumperStickerWisdom, Jul 7, 2009.

1. BumperStickerWisdom

BumperStickerWisdom New Member

Jul 7, 2009
    I am a new developer who recently submitted two applications to the app store to have both rejected for offensive material. My application is a bumpersticker application and the offensive material, as shown by the app review team was the line of religious bumper stickers. Some examples they showed me were, "My God can beat up your God" and "Remember Jesus loves everyone you hate."

Now, my anger is that I was just looking at the Top 20 paid apps and number 11 is the "Top100 Lingerie models" by Jens, LTD app. Which I have no problem with, but my issue is that they show a woman in a wet tee shirt, that shows everything (breast/nip) on the third screen shot. This is available to EVERYONE to see.

As I said, I don't have any issue with the app, I wish them the best of luck, but I feel that there needs to be some clearer standards for app submission. Why is it okay to show a women's breast in a screen shot, but not use the words Jesus INSIDE the pay program?

Anyways, I just had to vent and see if anyone else had any feedback.

http://bumperstickerwisdom.blogspot.com/

2. mehware

mehware Well-Known Member

Nov 22, 2008
    Yeah I know what you mean but I see their point... religion and lingerie are different kind of material that may be offensive or not to people. I wish I made a lingerie app in the entertainment category.. its all lingerie and gun apps. Way to go iphone client base. This is most likely teens buying this crap. I can pop out an app like that easy and probably better than some of the apps up there but I don't want to lower my standards... its "flooooooodddeed" with crap right now and sadly my app falls in the entertainment category. I might switch categories I don't know. Sigh.

3. ddn

ddn Well-Known Member

Jun 19, 2009
    Programmer by day but at night also programmer.