A German student got a question concerning BE and AE

Discussion in 'Off-Topic Lounge' started by Danillson, Sep 5, 2010.

1. Danillson

Danillson Well-Known Member

Nov 11, 2008
    Hey guys,
    I'm a German student and I have got a question. I'm holding a presentation about "the Political System in Germany" at an American college (as an exchange student). What I want to now is the following:
    When I say "minister" do you understand that as a member of the government or as someone in the chruch? I'm asking because my English teacer at school keeps saying that "the Americans" believe that a German minister was somebody in the church. He wants me to use the noun "secretary". I know that you Americans use that noun. However there are differnces between "ministers" and "secretataries". In my opinion, the term "minister is right because here in Germany we also call them "Minister" (German).
    So do you understand that I'm talking about "something similar to your secretaries" when I use the term "minister" when refering to the political position in Germany?
    I'd gladly hear your opinions?

P.S: I hope my English is not that bad...;)

Kind regrads,
    Danillson

2. Electric_Shaman

Electric_Shaman Well-Known Member

Jul 22, 2009
    Hi, first off I'm from England, not the US, so I'm assuming it'll be similar in American
    Anyway, I would understand "minister" to be a member of the government, if it was combined with a prefix such as "Finance", to form "Finance Minister", or "Health" to form "Health Minister"; even "Prime" to form "Prime Minister" =P.
    But if it was used on it's own as just "minister", I would probably think it was a member of the church. If there's nothing you can add to "minister", then simply state the first time you use it "...minister, a member of the government...", and then simply use minister from then on.

3. SJP99

SJP99 Well-Known Member

Mar 16, 2010
    Ipod Touch game player person like thing????
    11th dimension