Pine Tar Poker (w/ TestFlight!)

Discussion in 'Upcoming iOS Games' started by BJ Malicoat, Aug 10, 2022.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. BJ Malicoat

BJ Malicoat Active Member

Aug 10, 2022
    Male
    ♣️ Like Poker? Like Yahtzee? What about magic runes? Maybe an elder god?

Pine Tar Poker is a poker game that lets you replace luck with skill if you're willing to use a little magick.

I've been working on PTP for a few months with an artist friend of mine and I wanted to share it with the fine folks here on the TA forums.

Here's a rough trailer:

A few gifs of the game in action: https://imgur.com/a/54EZkAs

TestFlight link to try it now: https://testflight.apple.com/join/NT4OXNXj

I'm targeting end of the year for a release. I'm starting to post more updates on my twitter here if you want to follow along.

Thanks for any feedback!
    -bj

P.S. If cards aren't your speed, I previously made a word game, Downwordly, and was lucky enough to have it be Game of the Day last year.

2. Stronsay

Stronsay Well-Known Member

Aug 6, 2015
    #2 Stronsay, Aug 10, 2022
    Last edited: Aug 10, 2022
    Thanks for sharing. Looking mighty fine already with the Wild West surroundings - frayed cards, dust motes & saloon piano. Seems like video poker in an analogue setting, though much more to it. A lot going on under the table and behind the bar which is not obvious initially. I’m figuring it out as I go along, like with how the lucky items work. Didn’t know what Pine Tar was in this context, or some of the other scoring hands, but I see they are explained as played. Look forward to following development.
    Edit:-

C718DCC0-9D0A-4FEE-8229-4BCAECA09E23.jpeg

Got dealt this full house which I wanted to keep, but wasn’t allowed to put a hold on all five cards Had to lose one. Wondering if that’s intentional.

Edit 2:- Forget previous edit - I can take the full house score without having to complete the deal.

BJ Malicoat likes this.
  3. Boardumb