100% Complete NEWBIE! I need all the help I could get!

Discussion in 'Public Game Developers Forum' started by senkoujin, Jul 14, 2015.

1. senkoujin

senkoujin Well-Known Member

Aug 28, 2013
    Hello everyone, I'm interested in making my first iOS game and releasing it in the AppStore (you've probably heard this line many times), but I have no idea where to start. It's feels quite intimidating actually, but maybe somebody can provide me a really simple basic set of rules/measures/requirements that I need to achieve this, please?

This is all I have and know:

-I have a Windows Desktop PC running Windows 7.
    -I have downloaded the latest iTunes
    -I know JavaScript, some Python, and a light dash of C language
    -I would like my game to be OFFLINE only (at the time)
    -I have a general idea on how to advertise
    -I don't want to pay anything outside of getting the app published in the AppStore
    -I will be a single 'developer' working on a SIMPLE project that I expect to not cost anything to make
    -I own an iPhone 4 (iOS 6.1), iPad 2 (iOS 5.1.1), iPad Air 2 (iOS 8.3), and an Android phone (Android 4.4.2)

This is what I don't have or know:

-I have no comprehension of how to use a MAC (nor do I own one)
    -I know nothing of Xcode
    -I know nothing of Swift
    -I have only dabbled with Objective-C...3 years ago (consider it forgotten)
    -I am not familiar with ARM (all versions)
    -I only know basic LINUX commands
    -I don't know anything about SDK/APK stuff/software
    -I don't know anything about how databases and servers are created along with sending and storing information
    -I don't know to test my apps on my device(s)

I'm sure you all realize how much of a newbie I am to this now (sorry for that), but I would really appreciate any help offered to get me started working on my first iOS app. Thank you very much! ^^;;;;;

2. Rogue

Rogue Well-Known Member
    Patreon Bronze

Feb 9, 2011
    Games Developer
    Brisbane, Australia