Þhrir - Tactical Card Battler [Free Alpha]

Discussion in 'Android Games' started by bentpin, Jul 17, 2018.

1. bentpin

bentpin Member

Jul 13, 2018
    Male
    #1 bentpin, Jul 17, 2018
    Last edited: Jul 17, 2018
    I am a solo developer working on a card game that I'd like to share with interested alpha testers.

You’re Making a Game, Huh? What Is It?
    Þhrir (pronounced Thrir) is a fantasy-themed card game designed with casual-to-mid-core players in mind.

Another Card Game? Why Do We Need It?
    I hear you, and generally I'd agree. Look, I enjoy Hearthstone and the like as much as the next person but I don't dig having to keep up with the meta. So I decided to create a game that focuses more on tactical, in-the-moment play, rather than forcing users to spend hours studying online just to be competitive.

Ok, Cool. Why is Þhrir Different?
    Each player has their own deck of cards, but only takes 18 random cards into battle. Each turn your top three cards are revealed, and then sent to your opponent. Likewise, you get their three cards to review. After reviewing them, they are turned face down and taken through a Three-Card Monte shuffle to mix them.

So while you know your opponent's cards, you have to keep up with their final position, because you each then take turns selecting the order that your opponent's cards will be played against your own. Cards then do special attacks followed by their regular attacks. Dead cards are removed. If you eliminate all your opponents cards in a round, while still having at least one of your cards on the field, you win that round. Win enough rounds, and you with the match.

Sweet. I Can't Wait to Sift Through Card Packs!